Ashutosh Gowariker

Ashutosh Gowariker is an Indian film director, actor, writer and producer. He is known for directing films "set on a huge canvas while boasting of an opulent treatment".

His works include Lagaan (2001), Swades (2004), Jodhaa Akbar (2008), What's Your Raashee (2009), Khelein Hum Jee Jaan Sey (2010) and Mohenjo Daro (2016). His film Lagaan was nominated in the Best Foreign Language Film category in 74th Academy Awards, which makes him a voting member of the Academy Awards. He returned to acting by playing the lead role in the critically acclaimed dramedy Ventilator (2016).

Head of Jury 2016

Sunita Gowariker


Sunita is an indian film producer. In spite of not having a production background, she successfully ensured that all production responsibilities were carried out smoothly ensuring that Ashutosh, her husband, could focus on directing the film without worrying about any of the issues a producer must look into.
Jodhaa Akbar could have been a producer's nightmare as the scale of the film is such that Indian cinema has not witnessed in recent times, but Sunita was able to ensure the film not only remained within budget but also that in spite of having one of the largest cast and crew for a two hundred day shoot schedule, there was never any chaos on sets and everyone was well taken care of.

Chayan has organised several festivals and events in India, Australia and Europe. Australian National Multicultural  Award Winner, Winner of French Government's La connaissance de la France, he has been contributing to Brisbane's multicultural arts sceen for the last seventeen years.  He organised 'The Big Bachchan' retrospective with Brisbane International Film Festival in honour of Indian screen legend Mr. Amitabh Bachchan. Sarkar was the man behind the extraordinary organisation and execution of Indian Screen Legend Dr. Amitabh Bachchan's historical visit to Brisbane in 2011 along with Queensland Govt. and Queensland University of Technology (QUT) when the megastar received his Honorary Doctorate from Queensland University of Technology.


Chayan Sarkar

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

© 2017 All Rights Reserved by IIFFOQ